Saturday, 1 February 2020

US President, Donald Trump Slams Visa Ban On Nigeria, Five Other Countries

President Donald Trump has implemented his threat to restrict the ability of immigrants to travel to the United States from Nigeria and five other countries. It visa ban will be effective from 22 February.

According to reports from Washington D.C, Trump will sign a proclamation approving the restrictions on Friday afternoon.

The proclamation will curb the ability of citizens of Nigeria, Myanmar, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Sudan and Tanzania to get certain immigration visas, according to officials with the Department of Homeland Security and State Department, but it is not a blanket travel ban.

The officials cited national security concerns in identifying those countries, saying those governments do not meet requirements for information-sharing and passport security.

The announcement comes just over three years after Trump first announced he would impose a travel ban targeted at several Muslim-majority nations. An altered version of that ban was later upheld by the Supreme Court, and travel from Iran, Libya, Syria, Somalia, North Korea, Venezuela and Yemen is still restricted.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I’m glad you visited Alabekee’s blog. I love to read your opinion. Please spare me few minutes of your valuable time and drop a comment because it will motivate me to blog better.

DISCLAIMER: Please note that apart from, Alabekee does not own any other blog/website. Also bear in mind that comments on this blog are not posted by Alabekee. Alabekee’s blog readers are totally responsible for the comments they post on

Contact me for Inquiries/Tip-offs – or Call 08060623254/09051251337

Follow me on Twitter-@AlabekeeOla
Instagram - alabekeesblog
Facebook - Alabekee Ola

Thanks so much for being part of Alabekee’s blog!